International Islamic University Malaysia (UIA Malaysia)

International Islamic University Malaysia P.O. Box 10, 50728 Kuala Lumpur, Selangor


Phone: (+603) 6196 4000, Fax: (+603) 6196 4053

On may 20, 1983, the International Islamic University Malaysia received the Establishment Order from His Majesty, the King, Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al-Musta’in Billah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Abu Bakar Ri’ayatuddin al-Mu’adzam Shah, after diplomatic notes and co-sponsorship were exchanged between the Malaysian goverment and Bangladesh, Egypt, Libya, Maldives, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Turkey and the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC).

The university was formed and incorporated according to the Companies Act (1965) on May, 10, 1982 at which thr Memorandum of Association and Articles of Association were accepted as the constitution of the University and the name “The International Islamic University Malaysia” established.

With the formation of the university under the Companies Act, the project coordiantor, who was given thr authority by the Ministry of Education, no longer had jurisdictio. The authority now belonged to the University board. The temporary Board of Directors, now the Board of Governors, convened on May 21.1983 and decided to make the project coordinator the Company Secretary. The Company Secretary was given the power by the Board to from a selection committee to recruit personnel and prepare the groundwork to set up the physical infrastructure of the university. The permanent members of the Board of Directors was formed after the subscribers registered the names of members with the Registrar of Companies. This permanent Board, in its inaugural meeting, held on September 3, 1983, made a rectification “to make official all the work carried out by the Project Task Committee of the University which had previously used the the power of the Company Secretary under the authority of the subscribers”. The University Council was also formed on this occasion and a meeting held. The Council unanimously moved to call upon the first President of the University, Y.A.B. Tun Hussien Onn, the third Prime Minister of Malaysia, to appoint “the Project Coodinator” the Deputy Rector of the University, “and act in place of the Rector. As Acting Rector and Project Coodinator, Prof Dato’ Dr. Ariffin Suhaimi was able to convene the first Senate meeting on September 16, 1983 and announce the establishment of the following faculties :

1. Faculty of Law
2. Faculty of Economics
3. Centre of Funamental Studies
4. Quranic Language Unit
5. English Language Unit

Get Directions View Large Map

Visited 3614 times, 4 Visits today